The jury sat before the tribunal, heard depositions and passed a final judgement. The jury members, well known experts in their fields, were selected by the groups involved in the tribunal.

Amit Bhaduri
An economist and social activist, he has authored many books and been Professor Emeritus at Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi. He his currently a Professor of Political Economy at the University of Pavia.
Meher Engineer
Physicist currently studying climate change, member of the Teachers and Scientists Forum, and former Director of the Bose Institute.
Ramaswamy Iyer
Former Secretary of Water Resources for the Government of India and Honorary Research Professor for India's Centre for Policy Research.
Alejandro Nadal
Professor of Economics at the Center for Economic Studies, Author and Coordinator of the Science and Technology program of El Colegio de Mexico. He is a journalist for La Journada and advisor to the World Conservation Union.
Bruce Rich
Program Co-Director and Staff Expert at Environmental Defense, and author of "Mortgaging The Earth: The World Bank, Environmental Impoverishment, and the Crisis of Development"(Beacon Press, 1994).
Aruna Roy
Social activist, she was instrumental in the passing of the Indian Right to Information Act in 2005. Co-founder of the Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan (Workers'-Farmers' Unity Union) in 1990.
Arundhati Roy
Novelist, author and activist who has worked in the Narmada Valley struggle as well as many others. She won the Booker Prize in 1997 for her first novel, The God of Small Things.
Justice P.B. Sawant
Former Justice in the Supreme Court of India. Chairperson of the Press Council of India in 1995-2001. President of the World Association of Press Council in 1996-2003.
S.P. Shukla
Former Secretary of Finance, for the Government of India and India's representative at the GATT talks.
Sulak Sivaraksa
Founder and director of the Thai NGO “Sathirakoses-Nagapradeepa Foundation”. Initator of a number of social, humanitarian, ecological and spiritual movements and organizations in Thailand, and is one of the fathers of INEB (International Network of Engaged Buddhists). Awarded the Alternative Nobel Prize (Right Livelihood Award).
Justice Suresh
Former Mumbai High Court Justice, a leader of India's People's Tribunal movement.

Romilla Thapar
Emeritus Professor in History at Jawaharlal Nehru University, she was elected General President of the Indian History Congress in 1983.
Chief Justice Mrs. KK Usha
The first woman to be appointed to the position of Chief Justice in Kerala High Court. She was a member of the division bench which recently rejected the infamous appeal that curbs should be imposed in press reporting of Court cases.

Arvin Kejriwal -Delhi Water Privatization
Amit Bhaduri - Response to the World Bank
Madhura Swaminathan - World Bank and Food Security

The Tribunal's Blog: Contribute!
We are looking for a film maker
Sign up for our mailing list!